San Diego – Weekend Getaway

I love weekend getaways…you know because some days you just literally need to get away from your day-to-day life. A quick trip to San Diego was the perfect solution. My soul loves the sand and ocean air. You can take the girl out of California but you can’t take the California out of the girl.

I am lucky to have a bestie who is up for my crazy adventures and tags along with me.

One of my favorite trip planning tools is the Trip Advisor app. It is perfect for looking up local activities and fun food. The fact that you can read other users reviews is great! On this trip I also used my cousin Kristi since she spent a couple of years in San Diego. Thanks to Kristi and Trip Advisor we had a great trip.

IMG_7675[1]

First stop on our way out of town – Dateland! We thought as single ladies this would be the perfect stop to find a man, but we only found date shakes, and not the kind that pay for dinner. 😦 Have you ever stopped? It’s a random exit off with a Interstate 8 before you reach Yuma, AZ. You read more about Dateland’s history here. There is a Dateland/Quiznos combo restaurant. Inside they sell date shakes, ice cream, candy, accessories…pretty much anything date related.

IMG_7679[1]

A beautiful AZ sunset.

IMG_7687[1]

Our post church vaca selfie! We sat by the cutest family with the spunkiest little 3 year old girl!

IMG_7694[1]

Our next stop was the beach, of course! We visited Mission Beach. Mission Beach has a pretty long shoreline with fun black sand. The waves were huge! We ate a little tiny taco stand but I forgot to snap a pic! Sorry! I guess you’ll have to be adventurous and find your own eatery on the beach! 🙂

IMG_7698[1]

I was trying to take a photo of my shadow in the next picture but I happened to capture Kelli’s reflection in the water. Cool, huh?

IMG_7714[1]

Next we stopped off at La Jolla Cove cave. The cave area has a well marked pathway with large steps (not stroller or handicap accessible) that lead out onto a huge cliff where you can enjoy the wave crashing into the rock. It’s like being on the edge of the world! You can also tour the inside of the cave but you have to pay for the tour, so we opted not to do it. The tickets are purchased inside the gift shop.

IMG_7744[1]

After we enjoyed the ocean spray we made our way back up the steps to the pathway which loops around about a mile or so. I would rate the path as easy. You will see lots of locals getting their exercise and maybe a painter or photographer as you walk.

IMG_7796[1]

With all that exercise we obviously needed a treat! We stopped by the Donut Star a little hole in the wall doughnut shop we found on trip advisor. My favorite was the orange glazed, Kelli loved the blueberry cake doughnut. How fun are the fruity pebble ones?!?

IMG_7801[1]IMG_7803[1]

My cousin Kristi suggested the Torrey Pines hike. So we reviewed it on trip advisor and everyone said they would classify it as a walk and less of a hike. They are wrong. I would classify it as an easy or beginner level hike. It starts with a pretty steady incline and then breaks off into multiple trails. We took the Beach trail which lead us up, down and around to the beach shoreline. I loved it! When you finally reach the end you are rewarded with the beach! Yay! I would go back again. The reserve is family friendly but I would ditch the stroller, only the first portion is stroller friendly. There were warnings about it being too much for kids, but honestly all the kids we saw were kicking butt, it was the parentals that were struggling.

I would suggest getting there early in the AM so you can snag one of the free public parking spots just outside the entrance, otherwise you will have to pay to park. Bummer. I would recommend a small bottle of water and good walking/hiking shoes. It took us about 2 hours to go down and back.

IMG_7811[1]IMG_7817[1]IMG_7818[1]

My cute acorn necklace is from the Shine Project, a gift from my bestie Mary. Thanks, girl!

IMG_7822[1]IMG_7827[1]

After the pines we stopped for lunch at the BEST Italian restaurant, Cafe Milano! It was seriously so good! Homemade pasta, whipped balsamic dipping sauce. Mmmm…I need to go back. The owner,Pasquale was super friendly and hospitable. Such a great little stop.

IMG_7847[1]

And one last beach photo to hold you over until the next adventure….

IMG_7690[1]

signature-Saundra-caputre-sunshine

 

Leave a Reply

