Book Review: The Introvert Advantage

81Ms45W5yWL._SL1500_

I came across this book one day when I was trying to figure out a way to “fit in” better. I am an introvert. This is not new to me. I have always been an introvert. I am okay with who I am. But the more involved I become with others I realize they are not okay with who I am. My quieter nature made them uncomfortable, which then made me uncomfortable, because I noticed they were uncomfortable(you know all that uncomfortable-ness leads to sweaty pits, no one wants that:)). It all started to feel overwhelming.  I am attempting to enter a new field of work in which the majority of people have strong extrovert personalities. Finding myself constantly in a sea of extroverts. I started to doubt if being me was okay. I decided I needed tools to help me swim with my new extroverted friends. So obviously, Marti Olsen Laney’s book cover caught my eye – “How to Thrive in an Extrovert World”, uh, yes please!

What it’s about: Marti, the author goes step by step explaining the differences between introverts and extroverts and how each has a place and compliments the other.  She explains the different brain pathways used by both introverts and extroverts.

What I liked: I loved all the tips and insights this book provides. It has allowed me to see that my “differences” are really strengths. I love that. She calls introverts “innies” and extroverts “outies”…ya know like belly buttons! Bah!

What I didn’t love: I loved all of it!

Favorite quote:  If nature intended us to talk more than listen, she would have given us two mouths and one ear. —A NONYMOUS

Rating:  G

This book is great for both innies and outies. It will help with communication and understanding for all relationships, work, personal, or social. I hope it brings you the light and understanding it has brought me.

 

Your Favorite Innie –

signature-Saundra-caputre-sunshine

 

Leave a Reply

