Book Review: Expecting Adam

Having a summer without classes has allowed me to read of few things for enjoyment, yay! Expecting Adam: A True Story of Birth, Rebirth, and Everyday Magic by Martha Beck was just one of them.

books-adam1

What it’s about: Expecting Adam is based on Martha Beck’s real-life experiences while expecting the birth of her second child, a son , Adam. During her pregnancy both she and her husband were attending Harvard University. Martha’s pregnancy is filled with unusual and profound spiritual experiences. Some of which she struggled to personally accept (being atheist) explain or admit to anyone at first. These experiences inevitably change her life.

What I liked: I found Martha’s story to be intriguing and compelling. I had goosebumps more than once while reading it’s pages. There is power in her story, in her message, and  in her son. I loved being a part of  Martha’s journey as she began to shift her ideals set by society of being perfect and what defined an  intelligent, educated woman to truly accepting imperfection while identifying its beauty. I love Martha’s writing style, her honesty and her openness. I truly enjoyed this book.

What I didn’t love: The tone Martha uses when she talks about religion, I simply don’t agree with her view. I love my religion and my faith and anything that fights against that I get a little defensive about.

Favorite quote:  “In his strange, not-quite-human way, he is constantly reminding me that real magic doesn’t come from achieving the perfect appearance, from being Cinderella at the ball with both glass slippers and a killer hairstyle. The real magic is in the pumpkin, in the mice, in the moonlight; not beyond ordinary life, but within it.”

Number of stars: 4 out of 5

Rating:  PG

 

 

 

 

signature-Saundra-caputre-sunshine

Leave a Reply

