AZ Momtourage with Allison

This week we will be featuring small businesses owned and operated by moms. Being a mom is tough. Owning a small business is tricky. Finding a way to balance both is pure magic. We have asked some of our favorite moms/small business owners to share a glimpse of their experience. Don’t forget to head over to this post for a chance to win a free pair of Freshly Picked moccasins. 

AZ Momtourage

Today we have Allison from AZ Momtourage. I moved to a little town in Washington my junior year of high school and Allison was the first friend that I made. It’s so fun that here we are fifteen years later married and with babies. After living in Chicago for a couple of years Allison moved back to Arizona and realized that there was a need for a community where new moms could feel welcome and supported. That’s how AZM was born. Allison’s baby just turned one so she is in the thick of things of trying to figure out how to do this mom thing. She knows what new moms need and she is on a mission to help them get it (whatever it might be).

Allison’s fun and energetic personality is contagious. She plans fun and informative events that get moms the help and support they need while making new friends. I personally have been to a couple of events that Allison has put on and they are so much fun. She also has fun gift bags and giveaways at each event.

AZ Momtourage

AZ Momtourage

AZ Momtourage

Allison held her first event on February 15, 2014. It was a free AZM Fit Mamas workout. Her three words to describe starting her business are rewarding, challenging, and exciting. In Allison’s words about the most surprising lesson she’s learned:

The most surprising thing I have learned is that I am capable of running a business successfully and that moms truly want to be a part of AZM. In the first few months I experienced a lot of self-doubt and almost gave up several times before really getting started. Now that I have a few months of events under my belt and I get emails all the time asking when the next event is, I realize there was no need to worry. There is a need for community and my purpose is to fill the need. As long as I stay true to myself, I don’t need to be an expert at everything. It’s a constant learning experience.”

AZ Momtourage

AZ Momtourage

And the one thing she hopes her kids learn from her experience:

I hope my kids learn that everything is worth celebrating. I started this business because I love hosting parties and celebrating the exciting events of my friends’ lives. I have noticed that mindset is contagious and we can make a fun experience out of something as simple as trying out a new coffee creamer. Our success is based on our mindset and I want my children to truly take joy in the small things in life. I also want them to evoke Christ’s love in everything they do. If my business does that alone, I consider it a success.”

AZ Momtourage

AZ Momtourage

AZ Momtourage

Thanks so much for joining us today Allison. If you are in the Phoenix area and have kids or are expecting then be sure to check out azmomtourage.com. You won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

