Book Review: The Aviator’s Wife

Oh man, after not loving the Paris Wife I am actually surprised I picked this up. It’s interesting in the fact that the writing styles between the Paris Wife and the Aviator’s Wife are very different and their lives are very different, but the overall story was quite similar. As I have mentioned before I do love historical fiction. This book did not disappoint. The era this takes place in is captivating.

Benjamin_Aviators-Wife1The Aviator’s Wife is the story of the Lindbergh family. Before reading this book I was not well aware of who they were and their role in history. As I read the book I would do quick google searches about them, places, and events that occurred and now I can see that there are aspects of their life that have a huge impact on our lives today. For example, Charles Lindbergh was the first man who flew across the Atlantic Ocean by himself. It took over 30 hours. That’s a long time to spend awake flying over the ocean by yourself.

Anne Lindbergh is such a strong character. I cannot fathom what life must have been like for her. She was fascinated with this young pilot who flew across the ocean by himself and that young pilot soon became her husband. I was a young girl once with crushes on famous people and let me tell you I don’t know what I would have done if I’d actually married one of them. It would be so strange to be married to someone who you idolized (don’t get me wrong, I love my husband, but I didn’t ever idolize him before marrying him). It would just put such an awkward strain on a relationship.

“Oh Anne.” Mother smiled, touching my cheek, ever so gently. “Don’t feel sorry for me. No one knows the truth behind a marriage except husband and wife. Especially not the children! We knew each other, darling. You can be sure of that. Like I said- don’t worry about me. Worry about your own marriage. We’re the caretakers, we women. Left on their own, men would let a marriage run itself out, like one of Charles’s old rusty airplane engines. It’s up to us to keep things going smoothly. And, my dear, life with Charles is never going to be be easy. You have much more work ahead of you than I did.”

This book depicts the happy times, the tough times, the growth of a family, loss, stardom, as well as a glimpse into the 30’s and what life was like. It even talks about how Charles Lindbergh thought Hitler’s ideals weren’t such a bad idea. It’s a twisted love story in that the type of love Anne portrays to her husband, and vice versa, isn’t the type of love you read in story books. It’s more of a committed love and a duty to love. Although Anne was not treated life a loving wife would expect to be treated, she didn’t let that stop her from making a name for herself. She truly overcame much and made herself known even though she could have been left in the shadows.

I’m currently reading:
The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown
A Beautiful Mess Photo Idea Book by Elsie Larson
The Innocent by David Baldacci (listening on audio tape- I need to go on another road trip to finish)

Ashleigh-signature-capture-sunshine

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Aviator’s Wife

Leave a Reply

