Saundra’s Pick 5 – Top Restaurant Picks

With Valentine’s quickly approaching you may be looking for a great place to take your sweetheart for dinner. Here are my current top 5 restaurant picks. No Valentine? No worries. You can still enjoy some delicious eats. Just grab your bestie and head out.

1. Bandera  – located in downtown Scottsdale, Bandera is a great evening spot for adults (not too kid friendly) I love, love, love their Butternut and White Cheddar Enchiladas! Mmm.

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 8.38.44 AM

The atmosphere is calming and intimate with low lighting and open kitchen. Can’t break free of the kids? No worries. Bandera has a fantastic to go option, just call your order in, then pull around back to the dedicated pick-up zone and a friendly staff member will come to your window and bring you your order. It’s great!

2. Zinburger – Mmm. Another one of my favs! I love their turkey burger! So good. And sweet potato fries. Zinburger is just off Camelback at the Biltmore. It’s SO worth the drive. They also serve up homemade shakes!What?!

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 8.36.33 AM

photo source: sfrc

The atmosphere is loud, open, and kid friendly.

3. Costa Vida – I first tasted Costa Vida a couple years back when I lived in Utah. I loved it. I missed it. So I was beyond excited that they had a location here in Arizona but it was a 20 minute drive off the 60. So that meant planning a trip. I was again surprised and elated when then built a second location in Tempe! Woot! My all time favorite is the chili verde burrito. As a California girl finding good chili verde that compare to CA’s is tough.  I am here to say the folks at Costa Vida have done it! It is SO good! Mmmm…fresh homemade tortillas…mmm.

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 8.33.31 AM

My second favorite is the sweet pork! It is so yummy! Atmosphere casual, kid friendly, indoor, outdoor seating.

4. Chop Shop – Oh, Chop Shop, how I love thee! Let me count the ways….just read my post here about my love for Chop Shop. Atmosphere casual, kid friendly, dog friendly, indoor, outdoor seating.

ChopShop-veggie-hummus

5. Ncounter– Is a great breakfast/lunch spot. They use fresh and whole ingredients. They offer smoothies, omelets, eggs, and

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 8.27.25 AM

photo source: encounter.com

sandwiches. Nestled in downtown temple near A mountain, it’s the perfect spot to take out of town guests.

It’s always a great treat after your morning trek up A mountain or bike ride along Tempe Town Lake. My favorite sandwich is the 1/2 Turkey Pesto  with side salad. Mmm…that fresh foccia is to die for! And worth it’s calories!  Atmosphere casual, kid friendly, indoor, outdoor seating. Ncounter is only open until 3 PM so it’ll have to be a breakfast or lunch date!

signature-Saundra-caputre-sunshine

Leave a Reply

