Book Review: Inferno

infernoI’m actually torn between liking this book and being annoyed by this book. This was the fourth Robert Langdon book written by Dan Brown. Inferno refers to Dante’s Inferno which is the basis of this book. We’re going to make this review a love/annoying one.

First of all, I love that Dan Brown is great at helping the reader understand the history of the setting. He goes into so much detail on pieces of art, historical buildings, and history of the different places. This book has all of that. From Italy to Istanbul, I learned a lot. But seriously it was a bit over the top at times which kind of got annoying. I felt like he went into so much trouble to describe the history or background on irrelevant things that I could skim right through it and not care. I almost got to the point where I was bored at times.

I love that Dan Brown’s books are unpredictable. Each chapter takes you in a different direction that you would expect. That got annoying to the point where you could just expect that plot to veer way off course. But without giving anything away, he does pull it off quite well a couple of times in this book. If he had just kept it at a couple times instead of one hundred times, that would have been fine.

I liked the characters in this book and I liked that there were different groups of people all involved. At the beginning Robert Langdon wakes up in a hospital with no memory of the past couple of days and no idea why he’s in Italy. It made the plot more interesting to wacth him try to retrace his steps. It was also annoying though because I just wanted to get through some parts faster, but he was off day dreaming and having flashbacks.

What this all boils down to is that I liked the book enough to finish it. If Dan Brown writes another Robert Langdon book there is a really good chance I will read it. I didn’t love it though and that’s just fine.

I’m currently reading:

  • The Scorch Trials (The Maze Runner #2) by James Dashner
  • Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain
  • The Artist’s Way for Parents: Raising Creative Children by Julia Cameron and Emma Lively
  • Speedliter’s Handbook: Learning to Craft Light with Canon Speedlites by Syl Arena

Ashleigh-signature-capture-sunshine

Leave a Reply

