Why I Run

why i runHanging out with Ryder after one of my morning runs

I have not been running this week. My left hamstring has been bothering me a lot so I decided to take the week off to let it heal. Hopefully I will get back into running on Monday. My half marathon training is going well besides this little set back. I have been making an effort to run three times a week and I find that I am pushing myself a little more each week. There are lots of reasons that people run. They want to get in shape, they want to win races, or maybe they just like to get outside. Here is a list of the top five reasons I run.

1- I like to feel alive. I like to push my legs a little harder. I like to feel my lungs breathe a little deeper. I like the feeling of my whole body working together in sync.

2- I like to listen to music. I used to listen to music all the time. In the car, at home, at work, you name it. Now with two babies I just don’t listen to music like I used to. For one thing it stresses my daughter Roxie out. She doesn’t like extra noise. For another thing, my little baby Ryder (pictured above) seems to always be sleeping so I try to maintain a peaceful atmosphere in my home. But when I run, I listen to what I want as loud as I want (which isn’t very loud with my head phones on). Even when I’m running with my babies in the stroller I listen to my music.

3- This may sound silly. but it’s a really good excuse to get outside more than I normally would. On days that I don’t run I sometimes don’t leave the house. That may sound a bit extreme and that’s because it is. My kids are 16 months apart and lately they have been on opposite sleeping schedules. They are both awake at lunch time for about an hour and a half and that’s it. With at least one baby asleep at all times, I really don’t leave the house. On days that I run with the babies, I time my run to leave about the time that Ryder is ready for his morning nap. Otherwise I try to run in the morning without the babies before my husband leaves for work. Either way, it gets me out of the house.

4- I like to run to stay in shape. I also like to ride road bikes and sometimes swim. I don’t have weight goals in mind. I don’t have a specific size I want to be. I do like to live a healthy life style though. I have noticed that when I run I eat more healthy. When I run and eat more healthy I sleep better. All of which give me more energy during the day and I am more productive overall. I’ve pretty much given up on swimming because I’m not sure how to fit that into my schedule. As far as riding bikes goes, it takes a lot of work to try to get the bike and trailer all set up while working around two babies’ schedules. So I run.

5- I like to set goals and work to achieve them. That’s why I signed up for the Phoenix half. I like to have something to work toward. After I had Ryder it was hard to run one mile. Last Saturday I ran six and felt like I could keep going. The half marathon is in 5 weeks. It will be a huge accomplishment for me if I finish. I have never run 13.1 miles and honestly I’m not sure how it’s going to go, but I set a goal and I plan to stick with it. I’m one of those people that likes to make lists and check things off and this will be a great big check if I finish!

Are you a runner? What keeps you motivated? Why do you run?

Ashleigh-signature-capture-sunshine

2 thoughts on “Why I Run

  1. Carol says:

    Not a runner but I exercise(swim, walk, core training) to be in shape for fun things that come along like hiking trips, bike rides, all day shopping etc.!

Leave a Reply

