Brown Sugar Oatmeal Snails

snails7


Growing up my mom would always use left over pie crust dough to make snails. Spread out the dough, smother it in butter, then pour white sugar and cinnamon on top. Once that’s ready you roll it up and slice it up and bake it up. Easy enough right. Well, yes, if you know how to make pie crust dough. I don’t. But I do know how to buy it!! So using said purchased pie crust I made some snails, but I added a bit to them. I think I like the originals more, but just in case these sound good I will share them with you. This made just about 2 dozen.

Snails1

Ingredients (more or less of each depending on your preference)

  • Pie crust
  • 1 1/2 T butter
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 T cinnamon
  • 3/4 c not packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 c oatmeal

Preheat over to 350 degrees Fahrenheit

Roll out the pie crust so it’s a bit thinner. I did mine on wax paper to help with the rolling.

snails2

Smother on butter (the more the better right).

Drizzle white sugar, cinnamon, brown sugar, and oatmeal all over it.

snails3

Roll it up and slice it up.

snails4

Arrange on baking sheet.

snails5

Bake for 10-12 min (ovens may vary) or until the tops are a light golden brown.

Let cool 5 minutes. They may not be pretty, but don’t let that fool you.

snails6

Recommend serving with cold milk while they’re still warm.  Your taste buds will thank me later.

Ashleigh-signature-capture-sunshine

Leave a Reply

