Book Review: These is My Words

These is My WordsThese is My Words by Nancy Turner is the sweetest love story ever to take place in this state. It is such a heart felt story of how the west was won.

The story starts when Sarah, the main character, starts writing in a journal. She has had no formal education so it is a little painful to read through her first few journal entries. The grammar and spelling is atrocious, but it only gets better from there. Sarah and her family have left their home to start a new life in the west. The family goes through more trials on their journey than one family should ever deal with. And that’s just the beginning.

“We move on like stone statues. I feel like my legs are made of wooden branches and my heart is a hard rock inside.” -September 5, 1881.

The family eventually settles a ranch and plants an orchard a few hours journey from Tucson. They continue on with their lives. There are weddings and funerals and sweet relationships and friendships budding with each turn of the page.

Sarah is a very lovable character. Her innocence and naivete are what make this story what it is. I love everything that she stands for. She is a tough girl with a heart of gold. She finds a way to get through every rough situation and she pushes on. My favorite part of the story is Sarah’s love story. It’s the sweetest thing you’ve ever read. I don’t want to give anything away, just know that you will love it just as much as I do.

Oh and I have a huge crush on Jack Elliot. Too bad he’s just a fictional character in a book because he is something else!!

I’m currently reading:

  • Shogun by James Clavell (will be reading this forever)
  • The Confession by John Grisham
  • Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child by Marc Wissbluth
  • Lighting for Digital Photography: From Snapshots to Great Shots by Syl Arena

Ashleigh-signature-capture-sunshine

Leave a Reply

