Dinner in a Pumpkin

Every fall when I was growing up my mom would make dinner in a pumpkin. I remember wondering why it didn’t taste like pumpkin pie. Now as an adult every year I make dinner in a pumpkin and I have realized it’s because it’s more like a squash than a dessert. I have been married for 6 years and have made this for dinner once every year. The other day when we were eating this my husband looked at my plate and said, “You actually eat the pumpkin?”. Yes, you do eat the pumpkin. I’m just not sure why it took him six years to figure that out.

Ingredients needed:

  • 1 medium sized pumpkin
  • 2 boxes (in my case pouches from Costco) of chicken stuffing. I prefer Stove Top, but you can choose your favorite or make your own.
  • Butter and water for stuffing
  • 4 chicken breasts (I used tenderloins this time because that’s what I had on hand)
  • Chicken Gravy (Not pictured)

Pumpkin1

Directions

Set oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit

Prepare stuffing according to directions

pumpkin2

Cook chicken until juices run clear. I boiled mine, but you can bake it, fry it, throw it in the George Foreman grill. However you like to cook your chicken.

While chicken and stuffing are cooking, start cleaning out your pumpkin. Try to get out the stringy stuff and seeds without taking out too much of the pulp. That’s the yummy part to eat. Leave 1 or 2 air vents in the top of your pumpkin to let the steam escape.

pumpkin3

When the chicken is done cooking, cut it into bite size pieces.

pumpkin5

Mix the chicken in with the stuffing.

Pour the chicken/stuffing combo into your pumpkin and replace lid.

Place fussing baby in view of the ceiling fan. (This step is very important if you want to finish this)

pumpkin4

Place pumpkin on a cookie sheet lined with foil. Place on the lowest rack of your oven.

pumpkin6

Bake for 60 minutes. Your house will warm right up and smell like delicious pumpkin!

Prepare gravy.

Voilà! You’re dinner is ready! Be sure to scrape the insides of the pumpkin out when you scoop out your stuffing. You won’t regret it! I apologize I don’t have any pictures of the end product. Chaos ensues in my house around dinner time. If it’s not one baby crying, it’s both of them, just know that your pumpkin will be cooked on the outside too so don’t be alarmed when it comes out brown.

Serving suggestions:

  • Mashed potatoes
  • Green beans
  • Waldorf Salad

For a 4×6 recipe card printout click here: Dinner in a pumpkin

Ashleigh-signature-capture-sunshine

3 thoughts on “Dinner in a Pumpkin

Leave a Reply

