Arizona Museum for Youth

I am slowly figuring out how to be an active member of society with two babies. My older one will be 18 months this week and my younger one will be 6 weeks this week so obviously it’s an adjustment period for me. My friend Jessica (from A Couple of Craft Addicts) invited me and the kids out to the Arizona Museum for Youth. I’m so glad she did! Although the museum has a lot to offer we just stayed in the Kidville section. Roxie was in her happy place!

According to the Arizona Museum for Youth website their mission statement is as follows:

“The Arizona Museum for Youth inspires children of all ages to experience their world differently through art, creativity and imagination.”

It is an interactive art museum that introduces the wonderful world of art to young children. It is located one block from downtown Mesa and has easy access to parking as well as the light rail. It is open every day except Mondays. It costs $7 per person ages 1 and older.

artville01

The Artville section was perfect because there was only one way in and out. I was able to let Roxie run around independently without me needing to always have a close eye on her. Of course I tried to keep track of where she was at all times, but it wasn’t stressful because I knew she couldn’t get very far.

artville04

In addition to the main play section in the middle the different areas consist of a reading area, a play kitchen, a play garden, a crafts area, a performing arts area with dress ups, and a gallery. Roxie spent most of her time in the play kitchen.

artville06

artville07

artville03We had a great time and I am sure we will return again. As Rox gets older it will be fun to check out the rest of the museum.

Leave a Reply

