Fruity Shakes and Smoothies

At this time every year I get excited for fresh fruit. I love walking into the grocery store produce department and smelling all the fresh fruit as I walk by. The only problem is that I always buy too much! A couple of years ago I came up with this solution to my fruit buying problems.

This time around I happened to buy a pineapple (which my husband doesn’t like), blueberries, strawberries, and I had a peach that was really ripe.

First, I cut up the pineapple and strawberries. I don’t usually cut the strawberries this small, but I wasn’t really paying attention.

fruity1

Second, I get a big spoon and put a spoonful of each kind of fruit into plastic baggies.

fruity2

Third, I freeze the bags of fruit.

Fourth, I use the bags of fruit to either make smoothies or shakes in my blender (It’s not a fancy blender, just the one I got as a wedding gift years ago). The wonderful part about doing this is that the little baggies of fruit are perfect for single servings of shakes and smoothies.

Pictured below: Left- one baggie of frozen fruit, 2 scoops of vanilla ice cream, 1 cup of milk (give or take depending on desired consistency). Middle- handful of fresh blueberries, vanilla ice cream, and milk (to desired consistency). Right- one baggie of frozen fruit (because the fruit is frozen you don’t need to add ice), 1/2 cup of vanilla yogurt, a cup of orange juice (give or take on desired consistency), blended and topped with whipped cream.

fruity3

Do you have any fruit combinations that you enjoy? Please share in the comments below.

Ashleigh-signature-capture-sunshine

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
Leave a Reply

